Open menu Close menu
Artists List

Ursula J'vlyn d'ArkUS/QC

Ursula J'vlyn d'Ark<sup>US/QC</sup>
Ursula J'vlyn d'ArkUS/QC

Ursula J’vlyn d’Ark is an artist and software developer based in Tiohtià:ke/Montréal, on the unceded Indigenous lands of the Kanien’kehá:ka Nation. Originally from the Deep South of the United States, they were reborn in the queer underground of Montréal and grew up in the digital arts and electronic music scenes of their adopted home. By day, they work as a researcher and backend developer on software that integrates machine learning, neural networks, and complex dynamical systems into audiovisual media workflows. By night, they DJ and work as an audio engineer, having spent years developing their sound aesthetic. They have been featured at events such as Igloofest, Piknic Electronik, LIP, and Faggity Ass Fridays. Over time, d'Ark became known for organizing their iconic rave nights, such as TRYST, D'ark Mistress, P*SSY, and Acidalia, all rooted in the queer lineage of House and Techno music. As an artist, d'Ark moves fluidly between different media formats, blending audio, video, performance, digital and interactivity, demonstrating that their message is beyond the medium.

Ursula J'vlyn d'Ark US/QCEcotone

Ecotone is a choose-your-own-adventure game developed as a 2D platformer. The user navigates the space while collecting different types of orbs, which alter the identity of the user. Each choice evolves the character, the setting, the music and the story, transporting the user to a unique world that further immerses them in self-discovery. The question is: Who will you be today? This project was created under the guidance and support of the Pixelles Game Incubator.


Montréal-based artist Ursula J’vlyn d’Ark, sourcing their visual arts craft from their background in software engineering.


In 2019, they DJ’d a Dômesicle night at the Société des arts technologiques alongside Montréal DJs anabasine and softcoresoft.


d’Ark was chosen for Never Apart’s Six Picks series, where the artist is asked to dig in their record collection and comment on six releases.